//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

How to cure yourself of H. Pylori

It started as indigestion.  Then it became indigestion, gas, and bloating every single day for the next month, regardless of what I ate.  Fatty and oily foods were worse than other foods and could result in diarrhea.  Antacids and anti-gas pills did not work.  The only time I felt kind of normal was when I didn’t eat anything at all.  After going to the doctor and eliminating the more serious possibilities, I tried some H. Pylori treatments and responded to them.

Heliobacter Pylori is a bacterial colony that lives in your stomach.  It is thought that half the world’s population is infected with this, but most people are asymptomatic.  Those who do exhibit symptoms tend to have low stomach acid.  Symptoms are highly variable, and can include any kind of gastro intestinal distress, including nausea and bad breath.  The symptoms can be very similar to acid indigestion, but taking antacids when you actually have H. Pylori can make it much worse because it thrives in low acid conditions.  There is lots of information on the internet (somtimes conflicting) about H. Pylori, but I found a good consensus view here.

H. Pylori was first identified in 1982 by Barry Marshall and Robin Warren.  For decades, conventional medical science thought that stomach ulcers were caused by excess acid and stress.  Marshall and Warren determined the true culprit to be H. Pylori.  To prove his point, Marshall drank a batch of H. Pylori to intentionally infect himself, and then subsequently cured himself with antibiotics.  In 2005, both won the Nobel prize for this.

Because about half of H. Pylori species are antibiotic resistant, and administering mastic gum can be 80% effective, I chose the self cure route.  Not sure if these internet statistics are actually true, but it served as a starting point.  Here are all this things I took in the self remedy:

  • Mastic gum is a dietary supplement and comes from a tree from Greece, and can be found in Greek or Turkish cuisine.  I found this extremely difficult to find in retail stores, I tried Shoppers Drug Mart, Rexall, and GNC with no success.  The cheapest place I found online was Swanson Vitamins for $17 for a bottle of 60x 500mg capsules, on sale for $10.  While you wait for the pills to arrive in the mail, do the other treatments below to relieve symptoms.  I took 2 pills a day for 14 days, and then 4 pills a day for 2 additional days (to really make sure its gone), for a total of 36 pills.  Note that mastic gum can have side effects similar to the disease, so there may not be any relief of symptoms while you take this, but this is the only thing that will get rid of it for good, the other items below will relieve symptoms temporarily.  Not only will mastic gum kill off the H. Pylori, it will also kill off the good gut flora too, so expect an additional week of recovery time after you stop taking it.  Continue to eat probiotics to aid in digestion during this period.
  • Bismuth (Pepto Bismol, check the ingredients to make sure it is the original formula).  Reduces symptoms, but will make your poop turn black.
  • Lemonade.  Since H. Pylori thrives in a low acid environment, try to raise your acid level by consuming acidic foods like lemonade, grapefruit juice, and vinegar.  I observed that when you drink lots of lemonade, things will start tasting differently.
  • Spicy food.  By happy accident, I discovered that eating spicy chicken wings would make me feel normal for a day.  It turns out that the capsaicin in spicy foods can inhibit H. Pylori.  Go figure.  The hot sauce on chicken wings is also very acidic.
  • Hard liquor.  There is no better antiseptic than alcohol.  I drank a shot before going to sleep at night.  If I skipped a night, I would feel worse the next day.  Do not administer if you have an ulcer or any other gastrointestinal problem because it will make the problem worse.  Do not operate heavy machinery while intoxicated.
  • Manuka honey.  I did not observe any direct effects of this, but the internet says it works, and I like the taste of honey.
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus and Bifidus probiotics, commonly found in probiotic yogurt.  I did not observe any effect with the H. Pylori, but it will help you digest your food.
  • Mouthwash with flouride.  The idea is that the mouthwash will kill off any H. Pylori hiding in your mouth so it doesn’t reinfect you once you get rid of it in your GI tract.  However, using it did seem to reduce symptoms, which I was not expecting (it’s a mystery).  Use as directed, do not ingest.

Total treatment time: 16 days

The mastic gum treatment will reboot your GI tract, and I have observed it’s behaving better than even before the H. Pylori infection. Yay.

Discussion

26 thoughts on “How to cure yourself of H. Pylori

  1. Hi there! I just started the mastic gum (have h pylori and some gastritis). Did you take two in the morning, or one at in the morning and one at night?

    Posted by pln1969 | October 22, 2013, 2:32 pm
  2. Dear slumbuddy

    I ask you I work the mastic gum for Helicobacter pylori kill him?

    Thanks

    Posted by mariorg1 | July 17, 2014, 10:14 pm
  3. i have helicobacter pylori, but reading on the internet every ones telling you different things to eat, like some say keep away from citrus fruit an just read eat citrus, fruit,can you give me some advise please. I am on antibiotics 500mg an amoxacillian 500 my an 1 40mg omeprazole thanks Elaine

    Posted by elaine | June 9, 2015, 3:42 pm
    • It’s different for each of us . I think it depends on what stage of the healing process your at and what your body can tolerate . It’s trial an error .

      Posted by Ana | August 14, 2015, 9:03 am
    • Hi- studies shows that antibiotics only work on 70% of the population.
      If they don’t work for you, try mastic gum- I read online that you have to take 3grams a day in order to work. I am taking two 3 times a day! Really hope it works 🙂

      Posted by Nadia Moreno | October 4, 2016, 10:33 am
  4. I have been on mastic gum for 3months and I feel almost 100% better . Mastic gum is not a quick fix but it does work beautifully with a proper diet and colloidal silva , pre/probiotics to help the gut heal . I am finding that as time goes by I am able to eat food I would never of dreamed eating when first diagnosed wit H-pylori. .I will stay on Mastic for 6months then taper off , and reach some normality ,and get myself retested .above all be patient with yourself it does take time xxx

    Posted by Ana | August 14, 2015, 8:59 am
  5. The success rate with antibiotics seems to be between 76% to 87%. I’d rather try that first before resorting to internet cures. See this reference which comes from a reliable scientific source: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2657711/

    Posted by mk | October 6, 2015, 3:25 pm
  6. Im going to get a breath test done for Hpylori.. but Im already drinking warm water with cayenne pepper and taking 6 cayenne pepper pills a day…I also have mastic gum but haven’t started to take it yet… I may start to take it as well..since ive seen people say that it works fast.. i have had dizziness, chronic fatigue, bloating, gas, acid reflux, indigestion, I get shortness of breath.. I got sick after eating at a Japanese restaurant that sells sushi… I think i may have contracted this from here.

    Posted by KC | October 15, 2015, 5:19 pm
  7. After years of battling indigestion, GERD, various sorts of gut pain, thinking and being treated for ulcers, and hours and hours of online research, I have concluded that I most definitely have and always had an H. pylori infection (Helicobacter Pylori). But it didn’t start with just that. I first concluded that I had SIBO (small intestine bacterial overgrowth). But I didn’t arrive at either conclusion easily or directly. I was first diagnosed with Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, but was treated for simple hypothyroidism for a couple decades before an endo told me what I really had. How I got to that point was from trying to cure myself of it by taking high dose iodine. But that didn’t come as you would think either. I got to that point after suffering from dizzy spells, light headedness to the point of almost fainting, and becoming totally exhausted and out of breath any time I exerted myself beyond anything normal. That got me to searching the internet for what my problem could be from, and that got me to conclude that it was in relation to my hypothyroidism, and that got me to thinking that it was resulting from that. I was already taking a pretty high dose of thyroid medication and didn’t want to get put on an even higher dose because that damn stuff was causing insomnia as a side effect. So a little more searching led me down the path of trying to cure my thyroid condition with high dose iodine. Well, long story short, iodine, while if fact being an essential nutrient and very important for normal thyroid function, wasn’t what my problem was. After getting very sick with a cough I couldn’t self medicate myself out of and running a high fever, I finally went to the doctor, which I hate to do. Turned out I had pneumonia in one lung and was iron deficient anemic. It was a real challenge trying to figure out how I could be that when I was eating a fairly healthy diet and taking a multi vitamin everyday. So I got myself on extra iron supplements, and after getting rid of the pneumonia with prescribed meds, was proclaimed no longer anemic, but still low in iron. I still continued supplementing high dose iodine along with all my other supplements and along about 2 weeks before my scheduled follow up with the Dr I decided to experiment to find out if the high dose iodine was actually curing my hypothyroidism, and stopped taking my thyroid meds. I felt so good while doing that (probably due to the fact that I was actually sleeping normally during that time) I was almost certain I had cured the hypo. Not so. When the Dr saw how my TSH had spiked and I told him what I was doing and why he about had a conniption fit. So he finally referred me to an endocrinologist, which led to me finally finding out what I really had, Hashimoto’s disease. Which also happens to be one of over 80 some auto-immune diseases that modern medicine seems to have no clue of the cause or cure for, so they just treat the symptoms of and have a very reliable customer, err, I mean patient, for life. So that got me started on even more endless hours of internet searching. And long story short again, that led me to find (conclude) that most if not all autoimmune diseases are in fact caused by and come from the gut through the immune system being super charged by and doing battle with all the funny little things that have gotten into the blood through a leaky gut caused by infection and inflammation of the intestinal walls. The small intestinal walls become swollen from the inflammation caused by, what else, an over population of bad bacteria that come about because of an h pylori infection. Because H pylori has the ability to release an acid neutralizing substance into its immediate surroundings, it is impervious to the effects of stomach acid designed to kill things like it that don’t belong in the stomach. Therefore it has the ability to withstand the destruction of stomach acid, and multiply and overpopulate the stomach to the extent that the stomach is no longer acidic enough to properly digest food and to kill off any of the little bacterial critters that decide to migrate up into the small intestine from the colon, where they belong. Plus there’s another negative caveat to this nasty little critter occupying and mass producing in your gut. It has a ravenous appetite for the vitamins and nutrients that we need to survive. B12 and iron are 2 of the most noticeable.

    So your poor little small intestine gets a double whammy. All the bacteria that aren’t supposed to be there start to attack and inflame the SI walls, and all the food that hasn’t been properly mixed with adequate stomach acid to digest it starts to ferment and generate its own version of bacteria that also isn’t supposed to be there. So the gut just keeps on getting worse and worse, more inflamed, swollen and leaky, until the immune system becomes so over worked, overtaxed and beside itself with trying to keep up with eradicating all the little nasty things that a normal immune system would never have to deal with, that it gets confused and starts to attack the body itself. And that includes everything within the body, the organs, the endocrine glands, the muscles and yes, unfortunately, the brain (dementia and alzheimers) . This all leads to the immune system out of whack symptoms that modern medicine loves to treat as separate diseases with no cure for, and get paid so well for in the process. In my case, it was my thyroid that drew the short straw. But knowing AID’s tend to occur in multiples I know that I’m at risk of developing another one or two to go along with the one I already have.

    80% of the immune systems lie within the digestive tract, which really puts into context how huge an influence an out of whack digestive system can be on the health of the body and how it can totally disrupt an immune system that under normal circumstances functions so flawlessly. And to make it even more understandable, of the hundreds of trillions of cells in the human body, only 10% of those cells are human, the rest are bacterial and most reside in the gut.

    With that in mind, imagine the havoc that can be raised when h pylori infection takes over, allows SIBO to set in, and the bad guys equal or out number the good guys. I’ve been unknowingly suffering from this for many years. I recently started following a Paleo diet, then went to the AIP, then modified it further for SIBO control, with a variety of self made probiotics consumed in large quantities. Each time I changed there was considerable improvement for awhile, and then back to the same gut pain. I was slow to pick up on how h pylori could be the biggest player in this game until yesterday when I started to look deeper into it, put it all together and today started treatment with mastic gum. Luckily there’s a Natural Grocers close by and I can get all the herbal meds I need. I sure hope I’m on the right track.

    Everything I was able to find on this subject has tons of scientific/medical research to back it up. The NIH website and Pubmed are just two of the sources out there. Much of it tends to be repetitious, although much of it is also is based on simple personal experiences shared on different blog sites of like sufferers, and medical practitioners mostly of the naturopath variety. Not many MD’s.

    Anyway, it seems odd that with all the positive evidence out there, scientific/medical, anecdotal and otherwise, modern medicine doesn’t look deeper into the possibility that simple treatment with nondescript and easy to obtain herbs can cure the vast majority of human medical maladies by keeping our guts gratefully healthy, which in turn will keep us healthy and disease free.

    Posted by Larry | November 21, 2015, 10:18 pm
    • Thank you so much for your post. I have been taking PPI’s for about 16 years and a drug will work for a few years and then it will fail and when it fails the symptoms are so bad that when the stomach goes crazy it causes irregular heart beat and symptoms of a heart attach which makes me desperate to get a prescription that will make it go away. I also believe it causes my cough and wheezing. The first I heard of of H. Pylori was last week when I was researching PPI’s and the topic came up on a message board. The information has been mind blowing. It makes so much sense and this probably at the root of my allergies and IBS. I am certainly going in a different direction with my health now. Thanks for sharing this.

      Posted by Maxie Lee | March 1, 2017, 12:35 am
  8. Larru, if you see this ocmment, and I hope you do, your story is incredibly similar to mine.
    We are now in January, did you heal? Are you feeling better ?

    Posted by kenkoblog | January 20, 2016, 8:20 pm
  9. Larry!!! Hi_ any belief from mastic gum? I have been on it for 1 month-not sure if i should stay on it

    Posted by ron johnson | March 18, 2016, 10:10 am
  10. Great information here I started to take mastic gum today after trying to take the antibiotic that the doctor prescribed which by the way made me feel like death and worse everyday. I was only able to take it for 6 days. I started researching online and read lots of cases that ppl who took the prescribed antibiotic prevac” I believe it’s called where having near death experiences. And some ppl had worse symptoms with other medical issues due to the antibiotic killing all their good bacteria in their guts. The only bacteria that it did not kill was hp. So after reading for days I stopped that horrific antibiotic and have started mastic gum and manuka honey along with some other natural remedys. Wish me luck.

    Posted by Noe | April 13, 2016, 9:44 pm
    • Hi,
      Did the mastic gum work for you?
      If so how many grams did you take a day and for how long?
      I have started taking them today, I read somewhere 3g a day is the best amount to kill the h. Pylori.

      Posted by Nadia Moreno | October 4, 2016, 10:37 am
  11. i’ve been taking mastic gum for like 3 weeks now and am starting to feel better….i can now go to the gym without any problems , mastic works but it takes it time.. and change your diet

    Posted by reMO | April 21, 2016, 11:16 am
  12. I am taking the Mastic gum in the powder form which turns into gum itself. Do you swallow the gum afterwards or spit it out? It gets very hard after chewing it. How many days do I need to do this? Any help would be appreciated.

    Posted by Azar | May 17, 2016, 12:13 pm
  13. How long we have to take this mastic tablet? i am taking 2 in dawn and 2 in evening, is it good? pls helps

    Posted by Ramkumar Nagaraj | May 18, 2016, 10:37 am
  14. where can i get mastic gum

    Posted by RAJAH | July 28, 2016, 6:37 pm
  15. Amazon sells mastic gum. I hear that Jarrow is a reputable brand. Good luck.

    Posted by marge thom | August 18, 2016, 8:54 pm
  16. I found out by accident too, that spicy food really hurts h pylori after suffering from it for months.
    I incorporate extremely hot sauce into many of my meals now and have become somewhat of a spicy food enthusiast.
    I don’t know the scientific reason behind it but it really does keep it at bay, and have many days of remission when i annihilate my gut with hot foods.
    There is discomfort in the mornings obviously but its well worth it for me.

    Posted by Douglas | November 10, 2016, 12:26 pm
  17. Thank you so much. You have given hope to this h. Pylori sufferer.

    Posted by Travis | November 19, 2016, 11:54 am
  18. Im so glad youve had positive results. I’m currently taking mastic gum now for H pylori. How long did you wait before being retested? Or have you restested?

    Posted by perfectblueskies | December 3, 2016, 11:25 pm
  19. Hi I have recently ordered Mastic gum as I have H Pylori infection. Can you please tell me what kind of side effects will Mastic Gum have on my body? Will it result in diarrhoea? If I take Acidophilus probiotic, then will it control the diarrhoea? Please reply. Need your help.

    Posted by Diptanuprasad Chakraborty | April 1, 2017, 11:12 pm
  20. Thanks for your helpful insight. I am going to find some mastic gum. It sounds like it works in similar fashion to antibiotic. Do you think more h. pylori are less resistant to this strain?

    Posted by Nicole Stengel | April 2, 2017, 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

