//
you're reading...
Film

TIFF 2009 Day 6

Enter the Void
Before the movie started, a TIFF staffer told epileptics that they must leave the theater. After seeing the film I would have to agree with that. This film is an out of body experience, meandering through drugs, sex, and death. Many elements of this film I loved, and many elements I hated. For instance, I really loved some of the visual elements, but hated that it looked like it was shot on super 16 mm and many many shots were [intentionally] drifting in and out of focus. It’s already blurry enough with the super 16, no need to further defocus it. When I sat down to see this film I was suffering from sleep deprivation from the week of Midnight Madness movies, but drifting in and out of half sleep worked in this film’s favour. I’m also sure it would be much better on acid. I loved the story and concept, but ultimately I thought it was an hour too long (total running time 155 minutes). 6/10

Valhalla Rising
I rushed this film because I thought there was no way a violent, Viking, action movie could go wrong. Boy was I wrong. This was the most boring action movie I’ve ever seen. All the action scenes were edited to be fast (sped up and brief), while many of the walking and doing nothing shots were in slow motion (or did I just imagine that?). There’s hardly any dialog, thus most of this film is awkward silence. Mads Mikkelsen is great, but he couldn’t save this turkey. 3/10.

Nicholas Winding Refn and Mads Mikkelsen

Nicholas Winding Refn and Mads Mikkelsen

Mads Mikkelsen

Mads Mikkelsen

Baaria
This film is a autobiopic (kinda) about the director’s life, growing up under Fascist oppression and becoming a devout communist. Unfortunately, non-Italians lack context and are simply not interested in the complexities of Italian politics. Me included. Beautifully shot and directed, but but I simply didn’t care. 4/10.

Director Giuseppe Tornatore

Director Giuseppe Tornatore

Giuseppe Tornatore, Margareth Madè, and Francesco Scianna

Giuseppe Tornatore, Margareth Madè, and Francesco Scianna

[REC] 2
Decent sequel to [REC], it picks up immediately after the events of the original (so don’t see it without seeing the original first). Done in the same hand held style as [REC], it also adds to the story and is not a complete rehash. 6/10

Directors Jaume Balagueró and Paco Plaza

Directors Jaume Balagueró and Paco Plaza

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

